Blog Post #3

Chapters 1, 3, & 4
Lakoff and Johnson

metaphor-simile

After doing the readings for this blog post my head started to hurt because I felt a little mind blown. Like I know that we basically live a world full of metaphors and similes because what better way to express how you feel than through a metaphor or simile that someone else will also understand? The thing is that when it becomes a part of your human behavior you don’t think about it too much. This leads me to conclude that this is the reason why readings can be so difficult to understand because I am not taking the time to make connections between the conduit metaphors and what the writer is trying to say in-explicitly.

Thus far we have talked about digital space and its neutrality and race within technological organizations. The way we can connect Lakoff and Johnson’s ideas about metaphor to help us unpack the course material we have talked about would be through the idea that the digital world began during a time that a lot of the big historical cultural events were happening. This allowed for a sense of internet or digital “norms” to be based off of the culture and gender divide. Just like metaphors came from real life experiences but have been passed down from generations that we have lost sight of were they came from and we accepted them as norms. Like Lakoff and Johnson said it becomes hard to see the hidden message in the metaphor or even the metaphor for that reason. Before this class I hadn’t even thought about the technological organizations and who formed them and when they were formed. Allowing me not to process my own informed conscious thoughts and point of view only ever looking out of the lenses they created.

I also wanted to connect this idea of conduit metaphors which is language functions like a conduit, transferring thoughts bodily from one person to another in writing and speaking, people insert their thoughts or feelings in the words. This reminded me of something I saw on one of my SNS’s timeline today. I noticed some women are starting to use the word or perhaps spell the word “womyn” instead of “women/woman.” I’m not sure if this is old news and I’m behind but I asked my friend if she knew why women were spelling womyn this way. Turns out feminist feel that having the word “man” in the word “woman” makes women a subset of men.

I think this ties in to the idea of conduit metaphors because no one was questioning were the word women/woman came from and why the word men/man was in it. It is just in our vocabulary but then a group of women decided to use language in a form that would transfer thoughts from one person to another empowering women all over the world so to say. There might not be a full on metaphor hidden behind this connection I made but I think the concept connects.

Leave a Reply

